Commonwealth Games 2022: Debutants who won medals for India

Commonwealth Games 2022: Debutants who won medals for India

India finished 4th on the medal tally with a total of 61 medals including 22 gold, 16 silver and 23 bronze at the Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. The Indian contingent had a total of 215 athletes who participated in Commonwealth Games 2022. Out of 215 athletes, 48 were debutants who made their mark across different disciplines. 

Indian debutants did not disappoint and gave a superb performance. Ravi Dahiya, Nikhat Zareen, Nitu Ghanghas, Naveen Malik, Lakshya Sen, Eldhose Paul, and many more won gold medal on their debut appearance. Avinash Sable and Priyanka Goswami also grabbed historic silver medals in Athletics.
Silver winning Indian Men’s hockey team and Bronze winning women’s hockey both had seven debutants each side. 6 out of 10 medals from weightlifting were won by debutants.

Commonwealth Games 2022 Debutants who won medals for India

Here is a list of Indian debutants who shone on their Commonwealth Games debut:

  • Eldhose Paul- Athletics (Triple Jump)- Gold
  • Lakshya Sen- Badminton (Men’s Single and Mixed Team)- Gold and Silver
  • Nitu Ghanghas- Boxing (Women’s Minimumweight)- Gold
  • Nikhat Zareen- Boxing (Women’s Light Flyweight)- Gold
  • Sudhir- Para Powerlifting- Gold
  • Sreeja Akula- Table Tennis (Mixed Doubles)- Gold
  • Jeremy Lalrinnunga- Weightlifting (Men’s 67 kg)- Gold
  • Achinta Sheuli- Weightlifting (Men’s 73 kg)- Gold
  • Ravi Dahiya- Wrestling (Men’s 65 kg)- Gold
  • Naveen Malik- Wrestling (Men’s 74 kg)- Gold
  • Deepak Punia- Wrestling (Men’s 86 kg)- Gold
  • Priyanka Goswami- Athletics (10000m Racewalk)- Silver
  • Murali Sreeshankar- Athletics (Long Jump)- Silver
  • Avinash Sable- Athletics (3000m Steeplechase)- Silver
  • Abdulla Aboobacker- Athletics (Triple Jump)- Silver
  • Sumeeth Reddy- Badminton (Mixed Team)- Silver
  • Aakarshi Kashyap- Badminton (Mixed Team)- Silver
  • Treesa Jolly- Badminton (Mixed Team and Women’s Doubles)- Silver and Bronze
  • Gayatri Gopichand- Badminton (Mixed Team & Women’s Doubles)- Silver and Bronze
  • Rohit Tokas- Boxing (Men’s Welterweight)- Bronze
  • Jaismine- Boxing (Women’s Lightweight)- Bronze
  • Sagar Ahlawat- Boxing (Men’s Super Heavyweight)- Silver
  • Jugraj Singh- Hockey- Silver Shamsher Singh- Hockey- Silver
  • Abhishek- Hockey- Silver Krishan Pathak- Hockey- Silver
  • Hardik Singh- Hockey- Silver Surender Kumar- Hockey- Silver
  • Jarmanpreet Singh- Hockey- Silver Salima Tete- Hockey- Bronze
  • Jyoti- Hockey- Bronze Udita- Hockey- Bronze
  • Nisha- Hockey- Bronze
  • Sangita Kumari- Hockey- Bronze
  • Sharmila Devi- Hockey- Bronze
  • Sonika- Hockey- Bronze
  • Tulika Maan- Judo- Silver
  • Vijay Yadav- Judo- Bronze
  • Navneet Singh- Lawn Bowls (Men’s fours)- Silver
  • Bindyarani Devi- Weightlifting (Women’s 55 kg)- Silver
  • Sanket Sargar- Weightlifting (Men’s 55 kg) – Silver
  • Harjinder Kaur- Weightlifting (Women’s 71 kg)- Bronze
  • Lovepreet Singh- Weightlifting (Men’s 109 kg) – Bronze
  • Deepak Nehra- Wrestling (Men’s 97 kg)- Bronze
  • Mohit Grewal- Wrestling (Men’s 125 kg)- Bronze
  • Anshu Malik- Wrestling (Women’s 57 kg)- Silver
  • Pooja Sihag- Wrestling (Women’s 76 kg)- Bronze
  • Pooja Gehlot- Wrestling (Women’s 50 kg)- Bronze
  • Indian Women’s Cricket Team- Silver